Helpdesk Challenge – Keeping your Google+ account private

by , Technology Researcher Apps 17/01/2014
Google Security

If you’re a Google+ user, you might be surprised to hear that Google intends to open up your account so that other Google+ users can email you, even if they don’t have your email address. Soon you’ll be just a click away from anyone who fancies getting in touch with you, uninvited.

The good news is that if you’d rather not be contacted by any old virtual Tom, Dick or Harry, it’s easy to turn this unwanted inbox invader off.

Computing Helpdesk – all our PC, laptop and tablet tips in one place

New look Gmail

This is how your Google email will look when the new changes are rolled out:
New look Gmail

As you begin to type a contact’s name, Google will automatically suggest other users who you might be trying to get hold of, even if you don’t know their email address. It works the same way as Google’s search engine, automatically suggesting your search term before you’ve finished typing.

On the surface this looks like a great feature and could even help you find the email addresses of some old friends who you’ve lost contact with, and vice versa. The downside, however, is that anyone – from individuals to organisations – will be able to get your email in exactly the same way, which is hardly an ideal circumstance.

Turning off email via Google+

To turn off the option for others to email you without your address, you’ll need to head to the Google+ settings in your account.

Google+ email settings

From here you’ll be able to designate who can see your Google+ profile, and so have the option of adding you to any prospective emails. To block this feature completely simply click on the No one option. If you’d rather take advantage of at least some of the new functionality, you might also pick the Extended circles or Circles option depending on your preference.

If you choose not to turn the option off, you’ll find that emails from people without your email address will be filed into your Social tab on Gmail, alongside your Facebook and Twitter notifications, and so on.

Gmail social category

Please do bear in mind that presently this new service has yet to be fully rolled-out, with Google saying that they will be making it live everywhere in the next few weeks. At least now you’ll know what to do when you get the email from Google telling you of its latest feature.

More like this

Best Buy laptops – the latest laptops tested
Speed up a slow computer – our guide to boosting PC performance
Computer troubleshooting – expert advice for using a PC

One comment

Add your comments

avatar

Renjith Pillai

Hai sir,
I have Google plus account, the problem is when iam opening google plus account top of the page will show All then arabic language ( i don’t know what is this ) three things are in Arabic, after that More and explore, and one more thing is if iam getting anybodies invitation from Google plus and and and iam trying to add to my circle there also arabic means circles are showing in Arabic, that’s y i cant add any of my friend, if you can please help me

Back to top

Post a Comment

Commenting guidelines

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked

Tired of typing your name and email? Why not register.

Register or Log in